My Plan

Over consumption is a major problem that our world faces today. There are poor people in impoverished areas that survive off the bare essentials, yet on the other hand, there are also wealthy people that need the newest versions of every new gadget. People have gotten very greedy and consumerism is a major problem that we are faced with.

Although convenience is nice, I am going to try and use less. For the next six weeks, I am going to attempt to use as limited electricity, water, paper, and plastic bottles as humanly possible. I am also going to stop putting excess food on my plate, and only take what I know I will finish to avoid wasting food. Instead of running out and buying something when I am in need, I am going to work on looking around and using resources that are readily accessible to avoid contributing to consumerism. Lastly, if I really need to buy something I am going to completely halt the purchase of items in wasteful packaging. If I wasn’t already a vegetarian, I would also be eating less meat seeing that the “average American” consumes 1.7 tons of pork in a lifetime, according to one of the myriad facts and figures in “Human Footprint” on the National Geographic Channel.

I am excited to get started on my plan, and see what challenges I face. I know it wont be easy, but I am optimistic that I can change my habits and reduce my carbon footprint.

Leave a Reply

